Sportsfreund Logo

The walk, the underestimated gait of the Icelandic horse

Pferfekter Schritt bei Islandpferden

Thoughts and tips on the subject of stride riding by Silvia Ochsenreiter-Egli

In the walk, numerous deficiencies of the training become very visible. It reflects the quality of the riding/ training very clearly. Problems in the horse's rhythm and looseness are difficult to hide in the walk. For example, a lack of pitching movement and a pushed away back with accompanying faults in rhythm are clearly visible faults in influence. When not forced to move quickly, the horse spends most of its time at a walk in the wild in search of food. The walk is the horse's comfort gait. This knowledge can be used for a healthy and horse-friendly training

How can I recognise a good walk?

The eight phases of the walk 1st phase: rear left takes off, three-legged support 2nd phase: front left takes off, right bipod support 3rd phase: rear left foot lifts up, three-legged support 4th phase: right rear lifts off, diagonal bipod support 5th phase: front left lifts up, three-legged support 6th phase: front right lifts off, left bipod support 7th phase: right rear lifts up, three-legged support 8th phase: rear left lifts off, diagonal bipod support
Heljar der Schritt-Professor
Background knowledge from horse evaluation

The quality of the stride can be recognised relatively easily by the following criteria: A good stride has sufficient overstride and ground cover. The reach of the forehand is limited by the angle of the shoulder blade to the upper arm bone. Overstride is the reaching out of the hindquarters. In a good stride, the horse's hindquarters are about one to three hoofbreadths above the track of the equilateral foreleg. The span of the overstride also depends on whether the horse stands more in a rectangular or square format. In addition, various other conformation characteristics are decisive for the stride length. Therefore, the stride cannot be judged purely on the basis of the stride and the ground cover. Even horses with strong faults in the beat can have good stride lengths.

At the walk the horse should go forward diligently without hurrying. For a fraction of a second the lateral pair of legs then forms a "V!" The more clearly this V can be seen, the better the stride. This occurs when the front leg stays on the ground long enough. It may only leave the ground when the hind leg of the same side arrives. The hind hoof then steps over the impression of the front hoof. A good walk is characterised by a clear four-beat rhythm and does not show any pass-like or "jagged" (shifted to trot) hoof sequences. This is only possible if the horse can take up enough weight on the hindquarter.

Different tempi in walk

Different tempi can also be ridden in walk. A distinction is made between medium stride - strong stride - collected stride. Walk is not ridden at working pace, as in this gait the clear impulse forward and frame extension is always desired.

At the beginning of the horse's training, it is mainly the Medium Walk that is ridden, as both the strong stride and the collected stride require many years of training on the part of horse and rider. The collection is also the last point on the scale of training. At medium speed, reinforcement is already required. This means that the thrust of the hindquarters outweighs the carrying power. The horse should broaden its frame, i.e. stretch its neck and back more and show a clear impulse forward.

In the strong walk there should be maximum frame extension. This means that the hind hoof must clearly step over the track of the front hoof and thus the strides become more ground covering but not more hurried. The pitching movements of the horse's head also become more pronounced.

In the collected walk the horse should clearly take more load on the hindquarters. The strides become shorter and loftier, but not slower. No more pitching movement is visible. The horse is proudly erect and goes clearly through the neck. Under no circumstances is it allowed to overstride any more.

Who could serve as a better example for walk training than Heljar frá Stóra-Hófi?

Heljar is known beyond the country's borders for his outstanding walk: The 18 year old Aron son received the mark 10 at the FIZO in Wurz 2011 for this gait and also many other times at the show. Using Heljar as an example, we wanted to take a closer look at stride and some possible variations.

Islandpferd im Schritt

Free Walk

Here we see free walk on the long rein. The horse is not in contact, but steps very far under and stretches the neck. The hindquarters stay on the ground for a long time and push more than they carry. Heljar is relaxed and loose, the shoulders reach out. Free walk should only be ridden as a short reward. Riding too long in this position can cause the horse to stumble and overload the forehand.

Many riders have the feeling that their horse is perfectly balanced when riding free at the reins. But if the horse is to carry the rider without being damaged, a good and even rein connection (contact) is essential. Only in this way does the back arch up correctly through the mobilisation of the so-called flexor chain * (driving aids on the girth!) and we can promote the horse's carrying capacity and balance through our influence. Shorter sequences on the reins do no harm at all and strengthen mutual trust. The horse may perceive this as a reward, but must be solidly balanced by the rider's seat at that moment.

Medium Walk

Now we look at correctly ridden medium stride in good contact with a clear arching of the back and flowing energy through the whole body of the horse. The horse is at the aids, the topline is round and long and the nose is slightly in front of the vertical. The hindquarters are still very clearly undercut, but no longer stay so far behind the body on the ground and the hocks are slightly more bent.

The rider must follow the movements of the horse's neck elastically from the loose arms/shoulders without losing the connection to the horse's mouth. The leg resting on the girth supports the respective hind leg on the same side at the moment of the footing. The attentive rider can feel this very well, as the horse's trunk swings to the opposite side of the forward-footing hind leg. Thus the rider's calf is taken along by the horse's belly at exactly the right moment. The horse picks up the driving aids itself, so to speak.

Tip: Do not actively knock on the horse's belly or apply too much pressure. This inhibits the horse's forward motion and blocks the flow. Pulling on the reins, which slows down the equilateral hind leg and makes the movements stagnate, is just as faulty. Last but not least, the rider should be flexible enough in the pelvis (the middle pose) to allow himself to be carried along by the horse's back. The source of error here is an exaggerated pushing back and forth with both ischial tuberosities. A rider sitting in such a way takes away the impulse of every horse to step loosely forward to the hand and to close from the back to the front.

Collected Walk

Here we see a first approach (!) to the so-called collected walk. Here the horse is only allowed to seal, i.e. the hocks are increasingly bent. This allows the pelvis to lower and the hindquarters to take up more weight, enabling the horse to rise proudly from the withers. The horse strides with a steady four beat gait, set and raised. The maintenance of diligence is very important. The collected walk is energetic and light-footed. Not slow, dragging and without energy. The strides are shorter, but higher.

Attention: Very few riders and horses are able to ride/walk at a correctly executed collected walk. In Icelandic horse riding, the so-called "shortened walk" is mainly used. Riding at a shortened walk, i.e. with a minimal gain in space but not necessarily collected, is very good for oiling horses or preparing them for a halt parade. Please do not "experiment" with the assembled step without expert guidance, because There are numerous sources of error with sometimes negative consequences for the horse.

Some riders try to pull the horse's head up for collection in order to straighten it. In doing so, the withers drop and the horse goes in absolute (false) uprightness with its back pushed away on the forehand without being able to bend the hocks and take up the load. With this type of influence, the rhythm is often lost and the horses become extremely tense, lateral, uneven in the hindquarters and come to a standstill. When the horse loses the forward thought at the collected walk and starts to creep behind the rein, we see that although at first glance the topline appears round, it is a horse that walks without active hindquarters with short movements and not arched back. If this curling is reinforced by a rider's hand acting backwards, this type of "pulling behind the reins" in its extreme form is known as Rollkur . Both types are detrimental to the horse's health and psyche in the short and long term.

Extended Walk

In the strong stride, wide, ground covering strides of the horse are desired. In addition, the horse should step further forward and over than in the medium stride. The length of the stride depends on the horse's natural disposition and build. The rider lengthens the reins without giving up the contact in order to achieve the necessary extension. The horse's natural pitching movement is allowed by the rider's hand. In dressage competitions from Level M upwards, the strong stride is a criterion. This is very strenuous for the horse and should therefore only be ridden for short distances, always in conjunction with a subsequent relaxation of the movement and stretching of the neck.

The strong walk as well as the collected walk are not explicitly required in the usual Icelandic horse competitions. Only in the so-called "Gæðingafími", the Icelandic dressage freestyle, a mixture of demanding lessons and the riding of all gaits in the arena, is attention paid to these types of stride. However, Heljar likes to take strong steps. It is, so to speak, his parade discipline.

Conclusion

In my experience, every horse is able to walk in time with good energy and clean contact if the rider actively uses walk as a gait in which the horse is not only relaxed on the long rein or on the reins, but is also worked correctly. What cannot be worked out in walk will be even more difficult to achieve in all other gaits.

In the next issue we will deal with two different lessons in walk, which can be ridden both in the field and in the riding arena. The permeability and muscling/health of your horse will noticeably improve through good and clever step work and you will feel how positively this can also influence the other gaits! For those who are curious, here is a link to a step video made by Heljar in February 2021. You can also find it on www.hafnersholt.de

https://vimeo.com/519854067

* In the horse there is on the one hand the extensor chain, the so-called dorsal chain or topline. These are all the muscles that stretch from the head to the entire spine. On the other hand, there is the flexor chain, the so-called ventral chain or lower line. All these muscles curve or flex the spine, starting at the head. Only through an active flexor chain can the horse's back arch up and carry the rider without damage. However, if there are weak points in the muscle function chains, then coordinative emergency programmes run in the organism, so to speak, and individual links of the chain become overloaded. What starts with muscle cramps can have fatal consequences for the horse in the long run.

Heljar im Tölt

Silvia Ochsenreiter-Egli has been enthusiastic about animals and horses in particular since childhood. After several internships in Iceland, Austria and Switzerland, she has been working full-time with Icelandic horses since 1999. Silvia is passionate about teaching, training, breeding and sales at Hafnersholt. Born in Allgäu in 1976, she was a member of the IPZV’s Young Rider squad and, with her stallion Blivar von Birkenlund, a member of the IPZV’s federal squad (B-squad). Bavarian, German, Swiss and Central European championship titles adorn her riding career.

Heljar frá Stóra-Hofi is the most successful horse in the stable. Among other things, he became three-time Swiss champion, six-time runner-up, twice bronze medal winner at Central European championships (everything in five-gait and five-gait combination). In 2018, Silvia and Heljar were able to win the Central European Championship title in five-speed and five-speed combination at the high point of their careers so far. His step is legendary and has been rated 10 several times.

Silvia has been a member of the Swiss national team since 2013 and started for Switzerland in Berlin, Herning, Oirschot and Berlin again.

Silvia is IPZV Trainer B and IPVCH Trainer B (recognized in Switzerland).

Silvia is part of #teamsportsfreund and is sponsored by us. Here is her interview.

Rappe im Tölt
Silvia uses our saddle pads
Worth Reading

Why we use a Saddlecloth

Melasól x Sportsfreund – The Talk: Truths about Saddles, textile competence, consumption and is luxury even allowed? Katharina from the leather manufactory Melasól

Islandpferd-mit-Abschwitzdecke-im-Schnee

How do I use a cooler rug?

Your Sportsfreund blanket is a classic sweat blanket. Fleece and wool blankets are NOT made for use in paddocks and outside stables. That's why

Abschwitzdecken von Sportsfreund Studios
Sportsfreund Studios

The Sportsfreund Studios blog contains numerous tips on dealing with horses. From fitness training to the learning behaviour of horses - you can read it all here. The blog is written by Karolina Kardel from 360 Grad Pferd.

Hot right now
Our Magazine
Even more
WordPress Cookie Plugin by Real Cookie Banner

Der Schritt, die unterschätzte Gangart des Islandpferdes

Pferfekter Schritt bei Islandpferden

Gedanken und Tipps rund um das Thema Schrittreiten von Silvia Ochsenreiter-Egli

Im Schritt werden zahlreiche Mängel der Ausbildung sehr gut sichtbar. Er spiegelt die Qualität des Reitens/Trainings sehr deutlich wider. Probleme im Takt und in der Losgelassenheit des Pferdes lassen sich im Schritt nur schwer verdecken. Eine fehlende Nickbewegung und ein weggedrückter Rücken mit einhergehenden Taktfehlern sind zum Beispiel klar sichtbare Einwirkungsfehler. Wenn es nicht zum schnellen Fortbewegen gezwungen wird, verbringt das Pferd in der freien Natur seine meiste Zeit im Schritt, um auf Nahrungssuche zu gehen. Der Schritt ist Wohlfühlgangart des Pferdes. Dieses Wissen kann man für eine gesunderhaltende und pferdegerechte Ausbildung nutzen.

Woran erkenne ich einen guten Schritt?

Die acht Phasen des Schritts 1. Phase: hinten links hebt ab, Dreibeinstütze 2. Phase: vorne links hebt ab, rechte Zweibeinstütze 3. Phase: hinten links fußt auf, Dreibeinstütze 4. Phase: hinten rechts hebt ab, diagonale Zweibeinstütze 5. Phase: vorne links fußt auf, Dreibeinstütze 6. Phase: vorne rechts hebt ab, linke Zweibeinstütze 7. Phase: hinten rechts fußt auf, Dreibeinstütze 8. Phase: hinten links hebt ab, diagonale Zweibeinstütze.
Heljar der Schritt-Professor
Das Hintergrundwissen aus der Pferdebeurteilung

Die Qualität des Schritts kann man relativ leicht auch an folgenden Kriterien erkennen: Ein guter Schritt hat ausreichend Übertritt und Raumgriff. Raumgriff ist das Ausgreifen der Vorhand nach vorne, welches durch die Winkelung vom Schulterblatt zum Oberarmbein begrenzt wird. Übertritt ist das Ausgreifen der Hinterhand. Bei einem guten Schritt fußt das Pferd mit der Hinterhand etwa ein bis drei Hufbreit über die Spur des gleichseitigen Vorderbeins. Die Spanne des Übertritts hänge zudem davon ab, ob das Pferd eher im Rechteck- oder im Quadratformat steht. Daneben sind verschiedene andere Exterieurmerkmale Ausschlag gebend für die Schrittlängen. Rein nach Übertritt und Raumgriff kann der Schritt deshalb nicht bewertet werden. Selbst Pferde mit starken Taktfehlern können gute Schrittlängen haben.

Im Schritt sollte das Pferd fleißig vorwärts gehen, ohne zu eilen. Für den Bruchteil einer Sekunde bildet das laterale Beinpaar dann ein „V“. Je deutlicher dieses V zu sehen ist, desto besser ist der Schritt. Dies entsteht, wenn das Vorderbein lange genug am Boden bleibt. Es darf erst abfußen, wenn das gleichseitige Hinterbein ankommt. Der Hinterhuf tritt dann über den Abdruck des Vorderhufes. Ein guter Schritt zeichnet sich durch einen klaren Viertakt aus und zeigt keine passartigen oder “zackeligen” (zum Trab verschobenen) Hufabfolgen. Das geht nur, wenn es durch gute “ehrliche” Anlehnung und passende reiterliche Einwirkung ausreichend Last auf die Hinterhand aufnimmt und die Schultern somit frei bewegen kann.

Unterschiedliche Tempi im Schritt

Auch im Schritt können unterschiedliche Tempi geritten werden. Man unterscheidet Mittelschritt – starker Schritt – versammelter Schritt. Schritt wird nicht im Arbeitstempo geritten, da in dieser Gangart immer der deutliche Impuls nach vorne und die Rahmenerweiterung gewünscht ist.

Am Anfang der Ausbildung des Pferdes wird vor allem der Mittelschritt geritten, da sowohl für den starken, als auch für den versammelten Schritt eine langjähriges Training von Pferd und Reiter notwendig ist. Die Versammlung ist zudem der letzte Punkt der Skala der Ausbildung. Im mittleren Tempo ist bereits eine Verstärkung gefordert. Das heißt die Schubkraft der Hinterhand überwiegt die Tragkraft. Das Pferd soll sich im Rahmen erweitern, also Hals und Rücken vermehrt strecken und einen deutlichen Impuls nach vorne zeigen.

Beim starken Schritt sollte eine maximale Rahmenerweiterung vorhanden sein. Das heißt, dass der Hinterhuf deutlich über die Spur des Vorderhufs treten muss und somit die Schritte raumgreifender aber nicht eiliger werden. Die Nickbewegungen des Pferdekopfes werden ebenfalls deutlicher.

Beim versammelten Schritt sollte das Pferd deutlich mehr Last auf die Hinterhand aufnehmen. Die Schritte werden dabei verkürzt und erhabener, aber nicht langsamer. Es ist keine Nickbewegung mehr sichtbar. Das Pferd ist stolz aufgerichtet und geht deutlich durchs Genick. Es darf auf keinen Fall mehr Übertreten.

Wer könnte als besseres Beispiel für Schrittarbeit dienen als Heljar frá Stóra-Hófi?

Heljar ist über die Landesgrenzen hinaus bekannt für seinen herausragenden Schritt: Die Note 10 erhielt der 18 jährige Aron Sohn an der FIZO in Wurz 2011 für diese Gangart und auch viele weitere Male am Turnier. Anhand von Heljar wollten wir Schritt und einige Variationsmöglichkeiten genauer betrachten:

Islandpferd im Schritt

Freier Schritt

Hier sehen wir freien Schritt am langen/hingegebenen Zügel. Das Pferd ist nicht in Anlehnung, tritt aber sehr weit unter und dehnt den Hals. Die Hinterhand bleibt lange am Boden und schiebt mehr als sie trägt. Dabei ist Heljar entspannt und losgelassen, die Schultern greifen weit aus. Freier Schritt sollte nur als kurze Belohnung geritten werden. Reitet man zu lange in dieser Haltung, kann das Pferd stolpern und die Vorhand wird überlastet.

Viele Reiter haben im freien Schritt am hingegebenen Zügel das Gefühl, ihr Pferd sei bestens ausbalanciert. Doch wenn das Pferd den Reiter tragen soll ohne Schaden zu nehmen, ist eine gute und gleichmässige Zügelverbindung (Anlehnung) unerlässlich. Nur so wölbt sich der Rücken über die Mobilisation der sogenannten Beugerkette * (treibende Hilfen am Gurt!) korrekt auf und wir können die Tragkraft und Balance des Pferdes durch unsere Einwirkung fördern. Kürzere Sequenzen am hingegeben Zügel schaden keinesfalls und stärken das gegenseitige Vertrauen. Das Pferd kann dies als Belohnung wahrnehmen, muss aber in diesem Moment durch den Reitersitz solide ausbalanciert werden.

Mittelschritt

Nun betrachten wir korrekt gerittenen Mittelschritt in guter Anlehnung bei deutlicher Rückenaufwölbung und fliessender Energie durch den ganzen Körper des Pferdes. Das Pferd ist an den Hilfen, die Oberlinie rund und lang sowie die Nase leicht vor der Senkrechten. Die Hinterhand tritt immer noch sehr deutlich unter, bleibt aber nicht mehr so weit hinter dem Köper am Boden und die Hanken sind etwas mehr gebeugt.

Der Reiter muss aus den lockeren Armen/Schultern elastisch den Bewegungen des Pferdehalses folgen ohne die Verbindung zum Pferdemaul zu verlieren. Der am Gurt liegende Schenkel unterstützt im Moment des Abfussens das jeweilige gleichseitige Hinterbein. Der aufmerksame Reiter kann dies sehr gut fühlen, da der Rumpf des Pferdes zu Gegenseite des nach vorne fussenden Hinterbeines schwingt. So wird die Wade des Reiters vom Pferdebauch im exakt richtigen Moment mitgenommen. Das Pferd holt sich sozusagen die treibenden Hilfen selbst ab.

Tipp: Nicht aktiv an den Pferdebauch klopfen oder zu starken Druck ausüben. Das hemmt das Pferd im Vorwärts und blockiert den Fluss. Genauso fehlerhaft ist ein Ziehen am Zügel welches das gleichseitige Hinterbein ausbremst und die Bewegungen stocken lässt. Zu guter Letzt sollte der Reiter im Becken (der Mittelpositur) so beweglich sein, dass er sich vom Pferderücken mitnehmen lassen kann. Fehlerquelle ist hier ein übertriebenes Mitschieben vor und zurück mit beiden Sitzbeinhöckern. Ein so sitzender Reiter nimmt jedem Pferd den Impuls locker nach vorne an die Hand heran zu treten und sich von hinten nach vorne zu schliessen.

Versammelter Schritt

Hier sehen wir eine erste Annäherung (!) an den sogenannten versammelten Schritt. Dabei darf das Pferd nur noch siegeln, das heisst die Hanken sind vermehrt gebeugt. Somit kann sich das Becken absenken und die Hinterhand bei vermehrter Lastaufnahme dem Pferd ermöglichen, sich aus dem Widerrist heraus stolz aufzurichten. Das Pferd schreitet in gleich bleibendem Viertakt gesetzt und erhaben. Der Erhalt des Fleisses ist dabei sehr wichtig. Versammelter Schritt ist energisch und leichtfüssig. Nicht langsam, schleppend und energielos. Die Schritte werden kürzer, aber dafür höher.

Achtung: Die wenigsten Reiter und Pferde sind in der Lage, korrekt ausgeführten versammelten Schritt zu reiten/gehen. In der Islandpferdereiterei wird vor allem der sogenannte “verkürzte Schritt” genutzt. Das Reiten im verkürzten Schritt, also mit minimalem Raumgewinn aber nicht zwangsläufig versammelt, dient z.B sehr gut dazu Pferde anzutölten oder auf eine Haltparade vorzubereiten. Bitte nicht ohne fachkundige Anleitung mit dem versammelten Schritt “experimentieren”, denn Fehlerquellen mit teils negativen Folgen für das Pferd gibt es zahlreiche:

Manche Reiter versuchen dem Pferd für die Versammlung den Kopf hochzuziehen um es aufzurichten. Dabei sinkt der Widerrist ab und das Pferd geht in absoluter (falscher) Aufrichtung mit weggedrücktem Rücken auf der Vorhand ohne in der Lage zu sein, die Hanken zu beugen und Last aufzunehmen. Bei dieser Art der Einwirkung geht häufig der Takt verloren und die Pferde verspannen sich extrem, werden lateral, ungleich in der Hinterhand und kommen ins Stocken. Wenn das Pferd beim versammelten Schritt den Vorwärtsgedanken verliert und anfängt sich hinter dem Zügel zu verkriechen, sehen wir, dass zwar auf den ersten Blick die Oberlinie rund erscheint, aber ein Pferd, welches ohne aktive Hinterhand mit kurzen Bewegungen und nicht aufgewölbtem Rücken geht. Wird dieses Einrollen durch eine nach hinten wirkende Reiterhand verstärkt, ist diese Art des “Hinter den Zügel Ziehens” in extremer Form als Rollkur bekannt. Beide Arten schaden sowohl kurz- als als auch langfristig der Pferdegesundheit und der Psyche des Pferdes.

Starker Schritt

Beim starken Schritt sind weite, raumgreifende Schritte des Pferdes erwünscht. Zudem soll ein weiteres Vorfußen und Übertreten als im Mittelschritt erfolgen. Die Schrittlänge steht in Abhängigkeit von der naturgegebenen Veranlagung und dem Körperbau des Pferdes. Der Reiter verlängert ohne die Anlehnung aufzugeben das Zügelmaß, um die erforderliche Dehnung zu erzielen. Die natürliche Nickbewegung des Pferdes wird von der Reiterhand zugelassen. In Dressurprüfungen ab Klasse M ist der starke Schritt ein Kriterium. Dies ist sehr anstrengend für das Pferd und sollte deshalb nur auf kurzen Strecken immer in Verbindung mit einem nachfolgenden Herauslassen der Bewegung und Dehnen des Halses geritten werden.

Der starke Schritt sowie der versammelte Schritt werden in den gängigen Islandpferdeprüfungen nicht explizit verlangt. Nur in dem sogenannten “Gæðingafími”, der isländischen Dressurkür, einer Mischung aus anspruchsvollen Lektionen und dem Reiten aller Gänge im Viereck, wird diesen Schrittarten Beachtung geschenkt. Allerdings geht Heljar sehr gerne starken Schritt. Er ist sozusagen seine Paradedisziplin.

Fazit:

Jedes Pferd ist meiner Erfahrung nach in der Lage, taktklaren Schritt mit guter Energie und sauberer Anlehnung zu gehen, wenn sein Reiter Schritt aktiv als Gangart nutzt, in der nicht nur am langen oder hingegebenen Zügel entspannt, sondern auch korrekt gearbeitet wird. Was im Schritt nicht erarbeitet werden kann, wird in allen anderen Gangarten noch viel schwerer zu erreichen sein.

In den nächsten Ausgabe befassen wir uns mit zwei verschiedenen Lektionen im Schritt, die sowohl im Gelände als auch auf dem Reitplatz geritten werden können. Die Durchlässigkeit und Bemuskelung/Gesundheit eures Pferdes wird sich durch gute und kluge Schrittarbeit merklich verbessern und ihr werdet spüren, wie positiv sich dadurch auch die anderen Gangarten beeinflussen lassen! Für Neugierige: hier ein Link zu einem Schrittvideo von Heljar im Februar 2021. Ihr findet es auch auf www.hafnersholt.de

https://vimeo.com/519854067

* Beim Pferd gibt es zum einen die Streckerkette, die sogenannte dorsale Kette oder Oberlinie. Das sind alle Muskeln, die vom Kopf an die gesamte Wirbelsäule strecken. Zum anderen die Beugerkette, die sogenannte ventrale Kette oder Unterlinie. Alle diese Muskeln krümmen oder beugen die Wirbelsäule, am Kopf beginnend. Nur durch eine aktive Beugerkette kann sich der Rücken des Pferdes aufwölben und den Reiter ohne Schaden zu nehmen tragen. Gibt es jedoch Schwachstellen in den Muskelfunktionsketten, dann laufen sozusagen koordinative Notfallprogramme im Organismus ab, und einzelne Glieder der Kette werden überlastet. Was mit Muskelverkrampfungen beginnt, kann auf Dauer negative Folgen für das Pferd haben.

Heljar im Tölt

Silvia Ochsenreiter-Egli hat sich schon von Kindesbeinen an für Tiere und insbesondere für Pferde begeistert. Nach mehreren Praktika in Island, Österreich und der Schweiz arbeitet sie seit 1999 hauptberuflich mit Islandpferden. Silvia kümmert sich auf Hafnersholt mit viel Leidenschaft um Unterricht, Beritt, Zucht und Verkauf. Die 1976 geborene Allgäuerin war Mitglied im Kader Junger Reiter des IPZV und mit ihrem Hengst Blivar von Birkenlund Mitglied im Bundeskader des IPZV (B-Kader). Bayerische, Deutsche, Schweizer und Mitteleuropäische Meistertitel zieren ihre Reitkarriere.

Heljar frá Stóra-Hofi ist das erfolgreichste Pferd im Stall. So wurde er u.a. dreifacher Schweizermeister, sechsfacher Vizemeister, zweifacher Bronzemedaillen Gewinner auf mitteleuropäischen Meisterschaften (alles im Fünfgang und Fünfgangkombination). 2018 konnten Silvia und Heljar auf dem bisherigen Höhepunkt ihrer Karriere den Mitteleuropäischen Meistertitel im Fünfgang und der Fünfgangkombination gewinnen. Sein Schritt ist legendär und wurde mehrfach mit der Note 10 bewertet.

Seit 2013 ist Silvia Mitglied im Schweizer Nationalkader und startete für die Schweiz in Berlin, Herning, Oirschot und wieder Berlin.

Silvia ist IPZV Trainerin B sowie IPVCH Trainer B (anerkannt in der Schweiz).

Silvia ist gehört zum #teamsportsfreund und wird von uns gesponsert. Hier geht es zu ihrem Interview.

Rappe im Tölt
Silvia verwendet unsere Satteldecken
Lesenswert

Grundausbildung von Islandpferden

Wer ein Jungpferd besitzt, wird früher oder später vor dem spannenden Lebensabschnitt des Einreitens stehen. Fragen, die dabei aufkommen, sind

Abschwitzdecken von Sportsfreund Studios
Sportsfreund Studios

Der Blog von Sportsfreund Studios enthält zahlreiche Tipps zum Umgang mit Pferden. Vom Konditionstraining bis zum Lernverhalten der Pferde – hier können Sie alles Lesen. Geschrieben wird der Blog von Karolina Kardel von 360 Grad Pferd.

Aktuelle Themen
Unser Magazin
Noch mehr Lesestoff
WordPress Cookie Plugin von Real Cookie Banner